Latest News

Safal Pokhara Cup 2070: MMC successfully defends their crown after beating Three Star

threestarVsMMC002Manang Marsyangdi Club successfully defended their Safafl Pokhara Cup title after beating Three Star Club 2-1 in the final.

Three Star Club took the lead in the 37th minute through skipper Santosh Sahukhalavto give edge to Lalitpur outfit in the final. Sahukhala scored  from the freekick which was awarded for a foul on Jagjeet Shrestha by Sagar Thapa. But MMC´s Sujal Shrestha pulled back equlizer just 2 minutes before the break.  Sujal scored the goal from penalty  which was awarded to MMC after Three Star's defender Bikram Lama handled the ball in the D-area. The second half of the match saw no more goal as the match went to extra time.

MMC's Bishal Rai netted the decisive and title winning goal in the 12th minute of extra 20-minute after the normal time ended. MMC will be now celebrating Deepawali with the title and cash prize of Rs 355,000. Runners-up Three Star Club took home Rs 201,000.

The individual prize in the different categories were awarded to the following players:

Best player: Dipak Rai (MMC)

Best Goalkeeper; Bisal Shrestha (MMC)

Best Defender: Sandip Rai (TSC)

Best Midfielder: Shiva Shrestha (MMC)

Best Striker: Victor (Hongkong Nepalese Federation)

Best Coach: Hemanta Ale (MMC)

All the winners received a cash prize of Rs 15,000 each.