Women's League: Nepal Police win women’s title

npc wins league

Nepal Police Club won the title of the Western Union Women's League Championship with a hard fought 5-3 win over Nepal Army on penalties at Narayangadh, Chitwan on Wednesday.

The match had to be decided through penalties after the match ended 1-1 in extra time. In the extra time, Army went ahead in the 110th minute through Bhujung Rai only to be pegged back by Police in the 113th minute by Yasodha Lama.

For Police, Ghim Kumari Gurung, Meunka Giri, Amrita Jaisi, Yasodha Lama and Niru Thapa were on the mark, while for Nepal Army, Anita Kunwar, Dipa Singh Chettri and Bhujunga Rai were the goal scorers. Captain Anjali Waibia missed the target for Army.

With the win, Nepal Police bagged Rs 200,000, while the runner-up received Rs 100,000. Likewise individual awards went to: Best goalkeeper (Lila Lamgade of Nepal Army), Best defender (Ghim Kumar Gurung of Nepal Police), Best mid-fielder (Anita Basnet of APF), Best forward (Niru Thapa of Nepal Police) and Best coach (Sandesh Shrestha of Nepal Police). The individual awards fetched the winners a cash prize of Rs. 25,000.

National Sports Council Member Secretary Yuva Raj Lama was the guest of honour of the programme.

This tournament was the base for the selection of players for SAFF Championship to be held in Pakistan from November 11- 20. Coaches Kumar Katuwal, Aruna Gurung and Darshan Bhakta Lawat were given the responsibility of selecting players for the national team.