Women's League: Nepal Police win women’s title

npc wins league

Nepal Police Club won the title of the Western Union Women's League Championship with a hard fought 5-3 win over Nepal Army on penalties at Narayangadh, Chitwan on Wednesday.

The match had to be decided through penalties after the match ended 1-1 in extra time. In the extra time, Army went ahead in the 110th minute through Bhujung Rai only to be pegged back by Police in the 113th minute by Yasodha Lama.

For Police, Ghim Kumari Gurung, Meunka Giri, Amrita Jaisi, Yasodha Lama and Niru Thapa were on the mark, while for Nepal Army, Anita Kunwar, Dipa Singh Chettri and Bhujunga Rai were the goal scorers. Captain Anjali Waibia missed the target for Army.

With the win, Nepal Police bagged Rs 200,000, while the runner-up received Rs 100,000. Likewise individual awards went to: Best goalkeeper (Lila Lamgade of Nepal Army), Best defender (Ghim Kumar Gurung of Nepal Police), Best mid-fielder (Anita Basnet of APF), Best forward (Niru Thapa of Nepal Police) and Best coach (Sandesh Shrestha of Nepal Police). The individual awards fetched the winners a cash prize of Rs. 25,000.

National Sports Council Member Secretary Yuva Raj Lama was the guest of honour of the programme.

This tournament was the base for the selection of players for SAFF Championship to be held in Pakistan from November 11- 20. Coaches Kumar Katuwal, Aruna Gurung and Darshan Bhakta Lawat were given the responsibility of selecting players for the national team.

Women's League: Police, Army set title clash

amry 1411392385

Nepal Police Club and Nepal Army set the title clash in the Western Union Women's League following wins in their respective matches in Chitwan on Monday.

In the first match NPC needed a penalty goal from Yasodha Lama in the 70th minute to see off arch rival APF.

It was much easier for Army to dump Eastern in the second semi-final of the day. Army humbled Cenral 7-0. The goals were scored by Anjali Waiba (5thminute), Dipa Naupane (32nd and 48th minute), .Sarmila Thapa (34th and 58th minute), Kabita Dhimal (61st minute) and Dipa Rai (88th minute). The final will be played on Wednesday.

Women's League: Army and APF enters into semi-final

army women celecration

Nepal Army and APF book their tickets to the semi-finals of the Western Union Women's Football League in Chitwan on Saturday.

In the first match Western beat Far-Western 4-2 with a brace from Pushpa Thapa in 13th and 23rd minutes. Nisha Gurung in the 69th and Sunita Sunar in the 81sst minute were the other scorers for the winning team. For Far-Western, Seema Chaudhary scored in the 5th and 45+1 minutes.

In the second match of the day, Army won the match against APF 1-0. Sarmila Thapa was the lone scorer for Army in the 51st minute. The win helped Army advance as the winner of the Group B. The semi-finals will start from September 22. The four semi fixtures are Nepal Police V Armed Police Force and Nepal Army V Central.

Women's League: Nepal Police and Central Region in semis

npc vs eastern

Nepal Police Club and Central Region confirmed their berth in the semi-final of the Western Union Women's League following wins in their respective matches in Chitwan on Friday.

Nepal Police Club defeated Eastern Region 4-0 with Niru Thapa's hat-trick, with goals coming in the 26th, 36th and 69th minutes. Yasodha Lama scored the other goal for Nepal Police in the 55th minute.

Nepal Police advanced as the winner of Group A with nine points.

central vs mid western

Likewise, Central Region blanked Mid-Western 3-0. All the goals of the game came in the first half. Sapana Basnet opened the scoring in the 25th minute. Alisha Zimba and Rojina Maji added two goals in 29th and 40th minute respectively.

Central Region moved through as the runner-up of the group with six points.


Women's League: APF thrash Western region 21-0

apf vs western

It was goals galore at the Western Union Women's Football League as Armed Police Force routed Western Region 21-0 at Narayanghat on Thursday.

Sajana Rana scored eight goals in the 5th, 25th, 31st, 51st, 74th 75th 76th, 89th minutes. Anita Basnet netted in the 8th, 67th and 77th minutes. Geeta Rana was on the score-sheet in the 18th minute. Renuka Nagarkoti scored in the 15th and 59th minutes. Sabita Bhandari scored twice in the 22nd and 23rd minutes. Madhu Mukhiya scored in the 68th and 57th, while Sapana Rai scored in the 48th, 50th and 72nd minutes.