Sri Lanka announced final squad for women's SAFF Championship


The Sri Lanka National Women’s squad was announced by the Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) for the upcoming 2016 SAFF Women’s Championship.

The 4th edition of the SAFF Women’s Championship will be held at the Kanchenjunga Stadium in Siliguri (West Bengal), India. The tournament will be held from the 26th of December 2016 – 4thJanuary 2017.

Sri Lanka has been drawn in group A alongside triple runners-up Nepal while three time defending champions India are in group B. India won the Championship in 2010, 2012 and 2014.

Sri Lanka made it to the semi-finals of the last two editions of the SAFF Women’s Championships in 2012, which Sri Lanka hosted, and in 2014. However they were beaten 3-0 by Nepal in 2012 and 5-0 by India in 2014.

The Sri Lankan team will consist of 20 players; Erandi Liyanage will captain the team with Madushani Withanage as the vice-captain. Navy SC has the most representatives with 8 while Army SC and Air Force has four each.

Sri Lanka will have experienced campaigners in Achala Sarukkali, Praveena Perera who have represented the country in the last two tournaments as has the captain.

Erandi Liyanage is the highest goal scorer for Sri Lanka in the championships with four followed by Sarukkali and Praveena with two.

Sri Lanka will be coached by the experienced Solid SC coach Ratnam Jusmin who will be ably assisted by Deepani Samarasinghe and goalkeeping coach Jude Karunarathne.

Sri Lanka Squad

Erandi Liyanage (Captain), Madushani Withanage (Vice Captain), Chalani Ekanayake, Lakmini Silva, Nalika Karunarathna, Wathsala Priyadarshani, Chamantha Salomi, Rushani Gunawardana, Praveena Perera, Daniel Leelanthi, Niluka Aluthge, Ayomi Wijayarathna (GK), Thilini Jayasinghe, Chathurika Madushani, T.K. Anjala, Sakura Sewwandi (GK), Achala Sarukkali, Thushani Madushika, Maheshika Kumudini, Nisansala Kumari (GK)

Ratnam Jusmin (Head Coach), Deepani Samarasinghe (Assistant Coach), Jude Karunarathna (Goalkeeper Coach), Mr. Gamini Madurawala (Manager), Saumya Priyadarshani (Physio)