A total of eight teams have been confirmed for the ANFA Cup Football Tournament

anfa cup

Manang to take on Jhapa in ANFA Cup opener

A total of eight teams have been confirmed for the ANFA Cup Football Tournament to be held at the Dashrath Stadium from Bharda 17-25.

(Managers meeting for the ANFA Cup)

Manang, APF, Three Star, Jhapa, Army, Police, Sankata and Morang will be vying for glory that has a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh for the winning team.

In the tie-sheet draw held at ANFA complex, organizer ANFA seeded Manang and Army, the two finalist of the British Gurkha Cup.

Placed in group A, Manang pulled out APF, Three Star and Jhapa in the group, while Army, who were in the group, pulled out Police, Sankata and Morang.

Manang will play Jhapa in the first match on Bhadra 17, while in the second match A.P.F will play three start on Bhadra 18.

In Group B, Army will play Police on Bhadra 19, while Sankata will play Morang on Bhadra 20.

The semi-finals will start from Bhadra 22. The final is slated for Bhadra 25.

The tournament will follow the knockout format as ANFA has to give time to the athletes preparing for the Asian Games at Dashrath Stadium. The match is scheduled to start from 1 PM.

The tournament has a Rs 10 lakh for the winning team, Rs 5 lakh for the runner-up and 1 lakh for the semi-finalists. Apart from that, there will individual cash award of Rs 50,000 each for best coach, best defense, best mid-field, best striker and best goalkeeper. The best player of the tournament will be awarded a motorcycle.

The participating team has to register their players 24 hours prior to their respective matches. A minimum of 16 players and 2 officials have to be registered.

Group A

Three Star




Group B





Manang v Jhapa (17-5-2071)
APF v Three Star (18-5-2071)
Army v Police (19-5-2071)
Sankata v Morang (20-5-71)